A Poem

Pinocchio

Much like Pinocchio
I wanted to feel
Flesh on bone
I wanted to jump up and down
Rejoice in my skin
My longing always
“To be a real boy”
Match skin to skin
My soul to soul
Unbearable
Each lie
In the mirror
I see
Right in front of my nose
The lies grew
And my truth became too distant
“A real boy is all I ask”
My strings were pulled
Controlled by
The dichotomy of my life
And who has say
Then my wish became to be free
From the layers
Defined through circles
Representing years
And how they cut right through me
There were no strings
Each year setting myself free
Yet still
I was not free
I wasn’t entirely me
Putting the puzzle together
Piece by piece
Not wanting to imagine
What I will see when complete
Cuz
What it said on the outside didn’t quite match what’s within
And what do you do with all that
Love…
I still
Longed to be
“A real boy”
Can’t you see
How
Much like Pinocchio
I wanted to feel
Flesh on bone
With no strings
And not a clone

– Justice Roe Williams

Leave a Reply

